Repost from ART by SHAY FRESH Website

I’ve been honored to have a woman by the name of Nancy Watson purchase my Sankofa piece recently. How exhilarating it feels to know that someone that you don’t know invest in your creative work. As I floated on Cloud 10 and wondered about the life of my latest investor, I stopped to reflect on my own.

“What do you want to be when you grow up?” has to be one of the most infamous inquiries to exist. As a youngster, my response varied from Artist, Inventor, Writer, (then evolving into), Actress, Model, and Dancer. As my life unfolded, I became exposed to recurring battles with fear, doubt, and uncertainty, thrusting me into the abyss of “what do I want to be, now that I’ve grown up?”

To answer the question: to live life with joy. I will no longer latch myself to one particular occupation, in hopes that it will always fulfill my ever-longing desires. Life is like Hometown Buffet…you get where I’m going with this.

I will absolutely continue to create art, but I will also take pauses to pursue other interests. Not “flighty”, but just willing to be open to other experiences.

Live life with joy. All else will follow.

Leave a Reply

